When I was younger, there was a saying “Save for a rainy day”.  The idea as I remember it being explained was when something goes wrong you have invested in the right places and can draw on your savings hopefully with interest.

This weekend friends of ours came over to show us the engagement ring which had just been received.  In the process we got out a book, that is still on our lounge, my wife and I read when we were engaged.  A pastor I know used to call this sort of thing investing in your spouse.  It is the idea not so much of putting in to draw out on a rainy day but putting in so that there is a return with interest.

You see I am convinced many relationships stagnate not because whatever that brought them together has stopped, in many cases the common interests: sex, attraction or whatever are still present, it is that there has been no further investment.  To mix the metaphors the initial fuel was put into the relationship, enough to get it off the ground but then when it needed more fuel none was added and it came crashing down.  George Verwer was once asked why Operation Mobilisation did not invest in planes rather than boats.  He said “What happens when you run out of fuel?”  I’ll leave that to your imagination?

So how do you invest?  Well it may be spending time with the person or presents or other ways to show you love them.  It may be making room in your schedule to look after the kids so the spouse can have time ot themselves.  I know for me I regularly (about every year) purchase a new book on communication in marriage and similar areas to make sure I hear again the basics and put them into play.  And with all the people I know getting married – invest in pre-marriage counselling.  If you can start to resolve issues before marriage that will help in the long run.

What is theological about this?  Jesus said you will be known by your love.  Not known by your divorces.  We need as Christians to have strong, healthy relationships to be truly able to love one another.

So where will you invest today?

