Weimer’s next chapter finishes up the discussion on what teachers should do in Learner-Centred Teaching.

I think I should have read this far first and then started blogging but not all of us are as savvy as Scot McKnight.

Here the issue is designing courses rather than demonstrating ideas.  I think this is what I am planning for Hermeneutics in Semester 1, 2008 but time will tell how well I do this.

One of the worrying comments that Weimer makes is that “we like having the main role.  In many of us, there is a bit of the ham, the frustrated entertainer.” (p. 78).  Ouch.  A couple of us here joke that pastors enter ministry for one of two issues, power or entertainment.  I know I am the entertainer.

At the same time as skewering me Weimer raises the issues of why we have trouble setting ourselves aside.  I know in a Christian environment we should have more of a sense of it is not about me but about Jesus, “I must decrease and He must increase”, but somehow here we get caught up in a power game.  We talk about imparting something into students, as if we had something special that God can only give the students through us.  This is a form of pride that I will need to think about more and blog about later, God willing.  While I have no question that God appoints people to roles via spiritual gifts how these are understood as uniquely ours is what worries me.

Weimer uses an analogy of a guide showing the exciting things along the way but not doing so for the first time.  I remember going on the Maid of the Mist at Niagra Falls.  I got drenched.  I was cold wet and never wanted to go again though I loved it.  I think now however my son would love it and I need to take him.  This time I will be a guide not a traveller and I need to treat my students the same.

Thanks Maryellen.

