Weimer’s Learner Centred Teaching takes a dramatic shift in the second change she examines.

The first chapter was on the balance of power – the second chapter is on covering the content.  Except it is not about the content per se but the learning of the content.  How do we make sure students learn what we need them to learn without overburdening them.

I find this an interesting question as it affects my hermeneutics class.  I need technically to cover the different genres of the Old and New Testament.  What I will have to have the students do is show me they have learned how to read the textbook well to interpret the different genres.  This will be a change as I had an exercise like this previously and it did not work well.  Now I will have to make it work and I think I know how.  I am going to have to ask the students how the two different groups of genres (NT & OT) have different steps and then apply it.

There are some great lines in this chapter though.

“comprehensive finals were dubbed academic bulimia for the way they encourage students to binge and purge knowledge.” p48.

“In a learner-centred  classroom students do more than hear from the teacher about the work biologists do; they do the work themselves.” p52.

Weimer also gives a series of examples on how to develop learning skills so what is learnt in first year can still be around in second year.

But the final section before the chapter conclusion is personally encouraging as I read in this area.

“I believe that we greatly underestimate the complexity of the process involved in taking a generic active learning strategy and adapting it so that it fits the content, learning needs of students, instructor style and instructional setting in which it will be used.” p70.

I recognise my struggles to adapt material are not unique and I need to persevere.

Shalom

