There are days and season when you should not read. Well not if you want to stay the same at least.

Recently I have read The Starbucks Experience, Emerging Church and The Azusa Street Mission and Revival.


These are three very different books.


The Starbucks Experience showed the difference good managers can make to their employees and the atmosphere of a whole work environment. I needed to hear this as it made me reflect on good and bad environments I have been in.

The Azusa Street Mission and Revival was surprising for reflecting on its democratisation, faith and how far mega-church Pentecostalism is from its simple roots for both the good and the bad of that distance.

Dan Kimball‘s Emerging Church is a more difficult read for me as I found myself agreeing with most of what Dan says. I found myself more on the right hand side of the tables he provided than the left. On the left was the modern paradigm, on the right was the postmodern paradigm.

In the end I realised I am in the midst of a modernist movement (Pentecostalism) which is struggling to adjust to the idea of postmodernism. The conversations about emerging church are limited, see for example Earl Creps work, where he is receiving criticism about starting an emerging church.

Now I (and my wonderful spouse) just feel like Abram and I am not sure if we are called to go from our country or not.

Now the LORD said to Abram, “Go forth from your country, And from your relatives And from your father’s house, To the land which I will show you; And I will make you a great nation, And I will bless you, And make your name great; And so you shall be a blessing; And I will bless those who bless you, And the one who curses you I will curse. And in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.” (Gen 12:1-3 NAS)

Been there? If so what do you do?

