One of my areas of interest at the moment is the issue of “kingdom” and “church”. How they relate and how the church embodies the kingdom. While my research has been on church and I make a comment about the church reflecting the kingdom I have come to the conclusion recently that I need to do more work on this.

Imagine my surprise when I found this comment “The relation between the church and the kingdom has long occupied the attention of leading theologians in all denomination. Some have described the church as a sign of the kingdom, others as a means to the kingdom. Still other have portray the church as the outward form of the kingdom, the herald of the kingdom, or an echo or mirror of the kingdom.” (Bloesch, D 2002, The Church, IVP, Downers Grove, IL)

Somehow I have ended up in the category of leading theologians and I did not know it.

There will be more to come on this topic yet.

